Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute

Call Now For An Appointment

703-525-5542

 

PT In McLean and Arlington!

Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute in McLean

Our McLean PT office is now open
call 703-525-5542 for appointments

Maps & Directions

Arlington Office

1715 North George Mason Dr. Suite 503
Medical Building C / Parking Lot C
Arlington Virginia 22205


McLean Office

1499 Chain Bridge Road Suite 101
McLean Professional Park
McLean, Virginia 22101


Ph: 703-525-5542 ext. 200

Fax: 703-525-2739

Monday-Friday / 6:30am - 7pm

Connect With Us

Like Us On Facebook

LIKE us on Facebook!


Like Us On Facebook

Follow Us On Twitter!


Visit Our Blog

Visit Our Blog!


Review us on Google

Review us on Google


Review us on Yelp

Review us on Yelp

Testimonials

Thanks to VSI for getting me back on the ice following my arthroscopic hip surgery. The dry needling was a life saver helping my tight muscles following the surgery. All the therapists were amazing and helped me regain strength in my leg so I can prevent further injuries in the future. Thanks for everything.

Jason #88 Potomac Patriots








My name is Michael Snyder and I have had the great opportunity of playing professional baseball for over 3 years now in the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim organization. From around the age of 9, I have been going to Nirschl Orthopaedic Center and Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute and I cannot say enough about this first class group of not only doctors and physical therapists but friends as well. The treatment that staff provides is second to none! My brothers, who play at the professional level as well, and I have had many bumps and bruises in the past several years and have always known that the best care we could receive was within the Nirschl group. My father, Brian Snyder owns Snyder Baseball Academy, located in Haymarket, Virginia and has sent many clients to see the staff at Nirschl Orthopaedics and Virginia Sportsmedicine knowing the treatment they would receive would not only help them get back on the field but would give them a better understanding of how to prepare themselves to prevent future injury. With the long sports seasons kids have now, it is extremely important for them to have the knowledge of how to maintain their strength and prevent minor and major injury. With that being said, there is no better place to receive this knowledge then Nirschl Orthopaedic Center and Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute. I cannot say enough thank you’s nor could I ever repay the staff for their incredible treatment and our wonderful friendship!




My name is Matt Snyder; I played high school baseball at Westfield, college baseball at the University of Mississippi (Ole Miss), and now professional baseball in the New York Yankees Organization. The people at Virginia Sportsmedicine have been the most helpful, amazing physical therapists an athlete could ask for. They have literally been there for me since I was 8 years old. And other than the PT my teams have provided, I won't see anyone else. From shoulder surgeries to hamstring surgeries they got me back on the field. My rehabs have been much faster than expected and I come back even stronger. They use dry needling on a lot of my body when there are knots and soreness and it has worked amazingly. I would definitely recommend it to anyone with similar problems. I am by no means of fan of needles in general, but it works so well that I get it done every time I come in. If it wasn't for Sharon, Megan and everyone at Virginia Sportsmedicine I know my body wouldn't be in shape like it is now!

Matt Snyder
New York Yankees Organization




Thank you so much for helping to return me to the ice and getting me back to proper goalie form. The dry needling was vital to my quick return and improvement of form. I really appreciate everything you and everyone at Virginia Sportsmedicine has done for me.

Thanks again,
Will L.








Since February 2015, I have been under the care of the Dr. Derek Ochiai, M.D., of the Nirschl Orthopaedic Center. Dr. Ochiai has treated me for various injuries since 2008. This year certainly takes the lead! In February I fell on concrete and fractured both right/left elbows. Six months later, I can definitely say I am on the road to recovery, thanks to the wonderful care I've received under Dr. Ochiai and the dedicated physical therapy team at the Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute, which is supported by Dr. Ochiai and the Nirschl Orthopaedic Center. Since I had knee surgery for a pre-existing injury in April, the team splits my physical therapy by four body parts: left knee, right knee, left and right elbows. Keeping all of the records straight for insurance purposes keeps everyone on their toes! This team is Champions! Without their smiles, encouragement, and medical expertise, I may not be typing this today without pain. My family now begins our journey west to our new promise land, Washington State. I want to thank all of my

friends at the Nirschl Orthopaedic Center and the Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute for their care and support of my health. I am truly grateful!

Jolly S.











I strained my groin and hip flexor while I was playing goalie in ice hockey. I went to VSI and began my therapy. The therapists were incredible. Their vast experience working with athletes helped me heal quickly as well as improve my flexibility to help me be a better goalie! I am back on the ice and stopping pucks like I love to do! Thanks to VSI for their amazing treatment!

Ryan G.











I tore my glut muscle and suffered from pain and weakness going down my leg for months. I finally went to VSI for therapy thinking I would be getting surgery to alleviate the pain. I feel like I was blessed with a miracle when Megan tried dry needling my glute and IT band. She is so talented and truly performed magic for me. I got the dry needling once a week and then followed up with exercises/stretching a second time per week. It took a number of weeks of treatment to get the muscles to relax and completely heal but I have been pain free for months! Thank you to Megan and Sharon for working with me and getting me back on the tennis court!

Nancy G



I would like to commend Kelly for the outstanding treatment I received in two back-to-back therapy sessions. My first session was for a sore elbow. She mapped pout an exceptional program of treatment able to focus on the area of pain. Thanks to Kelly, my elbow has healed. The next back-to-back treatment was for a sore knee. Again Kelly knew what treatment was required and proceeded to put me though an intensive rehab program. I can to praise her enough. A very personable but professional young lady, she is totally dedicated to her profession and has an extraordinary grasp of required treatment for the barrios parts of the body. Please pass on my sincere thanks and appreciation for having such an outstanding therapist working in your clinic.

Samuel H.



I was a patient at VSI from October 2012 to April 2013. I underwent left shoulder surgery to include repairing three torn tendons and rotator cuff. I saw both Maureen and Kim at VSI depending on the time of day I scheduled my appointments. Approximately one month into rehab, I suffered from a great deal of pain and thanks to the expertise and precision to detail of both Kim and Maureen I went back to my surgeon who ordered an MRI. The MRI results showed pinched nerves and problems with three vertebras in my lower neck area. This exacerbated the pain from my neck all the way down to my elbow and forearm. The changes in diagnosis from rehabbing my shoulder to adding in these new problems were no issue for Kim or Maureen. I felt confident in the treatment and the time that they spent with me. I am very grateful how well Kim and Maureen communicated with each other on my progress and any new or recurring pain I faced with each session. As time wore on, I started to schedule my appointments in the evening due to work conflicts and only worked with Kim. Kim offered excellent professional insight into my pain and used new techniques to assist me with the pain, which included taping my shoulder and back. It has been over six months since my surgery and I am feeling better and better each day. The expertise of Kim and Maureen have made it possible for me to continue my stretches and exercises on my own. I am confident that I will continue to gain strength, range of motion and reduce my pain. They both practiced a great deal of concern and patience, acknowledging my pain while pushing me past my comfort level in order for me to heal properly. I highly recommend VSI and definitely Kim and Maureen for anyone in need of physical therapy.

Debra N.



In February I fell and broke my elbow and was subsequently operated on by Dr. Derek Ochiai. I have just completed a four-month, twice-a-week regime at Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute. The care I received there was always knowledgeable, considerate and professional. They were always patient, and when I sometimes became discouraged, they urged me on. While I found all of the staff helpful in my rehabilitation, I specifically wish to acknowledge my principal therapist, Aaron, who patiently guided me to the point that my elbow has almost entirely healed.

Giordano C.



Last October, I was referred to Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute by Dr. Guidi to seek therapy for a sore shoulder. When I was not able to achieve positive results, he sent me in for an MRI which multiple SLAP tears, a rotator cuff needing to be cleaned out, and the need to relocate the bicep tendon attachment. Post-surgery I returned to their capable hands to begin my physical therapy. Kim was super throughout my treatment, understanding the injury, the surgery, and the pains that I was experiencing. She understood when I needed to be pushed and when to let up a bit. My original prescription was for four months of PT, I am proud to say that we were able to do this in three months. I am sure in no small part to the skilled sessions with Kim and the rest of the great team at VSI. With only a month between my completion of work on my right shoulder and the same surgery being performed on my left shoulder, I find myself once again visiting Kim, Erin, and Rachel twice a week for PT sessions. I am hoping for the same quick results on the left shoulder, but even if it takes longer I know that this team will get me back to 100%.

Julie-Anne R.



I wanted to express my sincere appreciation for the very professional care provided to me by you and your team during the past 3 months of physical therapy. When someone experiences not one, but two unexpected injuries, (wrist and knee), it is most helpful to have kind and caring experts to help to get back to function. In addition to the actual physical therapy you provided, I greatly appreciated the information and encouragement you provided. The plans that you developed, and that were implemented by your team are helping me to regain function. Many thanks again for your expertise and professionalism.

Sincerely
Grace K.



In January I underwent my 2nd shoulder surgery in 10 years. A former pitcher, I was starting to develop a muscle imbalance and Dr. Eric Guidi performed a Bankart repair, scoped a partial rotator cuff tear, and removed loose cartilage. Halfway through my physical therapy course of action, I started working with Kim. Kim was great in recognizing the need and then motivating me to work harder, breaking plateaus to ensure that I regained my strength. What truly sets Kim apart from most PTs is her follow through to ensure patients don't lose progress. I received from her, an instructional packet on numerous shoulder stretches and exercises, but she went a step further providing the guidance on which exercises to do on certain days and how to identify opportunities to increase the reps and weight, that has really helped speed the recovery process. Lastly, Kim has shown in-depth understanding of shoulder mechanics. Being a former pitcher, I am in tune with the aches, pains, and strains, and when I alluded to those areas, she did a great job of using her knowledge to stretch and massage the areas at issue, providing relief and comfort so that I could continue to heal via exercise. I have no doubt I will get injured again through recreational sports, and if I need PT, I will certainly contact Kim to guide the recovery!

Kevin M.



I really love this clinic and recommend it very highly and with great enthusiasm. First of all, I am always seen on time! My physical therapist, Dianne, is a rare gem (patient and compassionate but also firm and very knowledgeable). I am so grateful also to rehab specialist Frank for his reassuring easy manner and for opening the door for me when I could not, and for not opening the door for me when I could, and for easily knowing the difference. Each and every specialist I have seen has been very helpful getting me walking again without pain. There is an authentic spirit of teamwork and support here that just never quits, so you don't either, and you get better. These people are dedicated to helping patients overcome pain and turn disability into recovery. The clinicians know what they are about and they apply their craft confidently and skillfully.

Carol S.



I am writing in regards to the excellent level of care that I received while a patient at Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute (VSI). I am a 33 year old Firefighter and Paramedic with the Arlington County Fire Department, I suffered a torn ACL in my right knee while at work and to make my recovery more interesting I tore the Patella Tendon in my left knee immediately following ACL revision. This proved to be a long and difficult recovery.

A week after my ACL revision I hobbled into VSI with a cast on my left leg and my right in an immobilizer and was introduced to Kim and the rest of the staff. After telling my story of how I sustained both injuries we got to work evaluating my knee and my goals for rehab. I attended physical therapy twice a week for approximately 6 months and worked with Kim just about every time. She worked extremely hard to keep me focused on my goals (retuning to work), and interested in therapy at all times. Kim was innovative, especially in the early going to adapt exercises that I could not do because of the injury to my left leg. Kim always answered concerns and questions that I had about certain exercises, things I could or couldn't do, and what I could expect going forward. Kim alleviated concerns I had about my second surgery (to fix the ruptured Patella tendon), and would routinely update my Orthopedist as to my progress and any concerns that I had. Kim ensured that I could get around, teaching me the correct way to walk on crutches with two injured legs and how to traverse stairs (even giving me a handy note to remember on my cast!). After my second surgery Kim started my treatment back at square one for my left leg and continued to push my right leg. I looked forward to therapy and Kim's cheery attitude that always put me into a good mood, no matter how down or frustrated I got. Slowly, I could feel both of my legs getting stronger and I went from being barely able to lift my leg off the table to jumping down the hall. I was discharged from therapy with confidence in both of my legs as well as full function.

I am eternally grateful to VSI and especially Kim for the dedication and commitment that they showed in their work. I am happy to say that I am back to full duty riding fire trucks and ambulances today; I know that wouldn't have been possible without all of their help. I hope to never be a patient again, but if I am, I will definitely go back to VSI.

Thank You,
Kevin T.



In January, I had surgery for Dupuytren's Disease. I had been to Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute in the past for physical therapy for various injuries and consistently experienced success. It was an easy decision to return to your facility for occupational therapy.

After my cast was removed, I had hardly any movement in my hand which is disastrous for me since I am a pianist. Megan did a phenomenal job of working with me and education me. As a result, my progress is better than I ever expected.

Physical and occupational therapy is hard, tedious work. I was happy that the friendly, casual, welcoming atmosphere and spirit of camaraderie among employees that I remembered still exists at Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute. Other patients that I spoke to in the waiting area share my sentiments.

I wanted you to know how much I appreciated the knowledge and skill of the therapists and equally importantly the warm, friendly, cheerful tone that exists at Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute.

Sincerely,
Joy B.



I am writing this letter to you to sound the praises of the Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute. When I arrived at VSI, I was in severe pain due to either a nerve problem or a muscle spasm in my lower back. I had x-rays taken of my back and after two visits to the Virginia Hospital Center emergency room and medications prescribed for me by two doctors, nothing seemed to work for me. X-rays showed I had an arthritic condition in the lumbar are of my back. I consulted my Doctor, Dr. Bria Boland and he suggested physical therapy.

I contacted VSI and schedule eight sessions of physical therapy. In consultation with one of your physical therapists, Rachel we discussed my problem and the pain I was enduring. Rachel asked me on a scale of 1-10 how bad was my pain. I told her beyond 10. I could hardly get out of bed without excruciating pain. Rachel then designed a physical therapy program for me that worked, it really worked. Rachel knows her job well as a physical therapist. I want to commend Rachel and everyone at VSI who participated in helping me with my physical therapy program.

I walked out of VSI on my last visit without experiencing any back pain. I want to thank VSI and its staff for their professionalism in handling my medical problem.

Very truly yours,
Charles B.



I injured my left shoulder last fall & I've been a patient in your clinic since then. In addition to presently being a patient, I'm a retired military healthcare administrator, & currently employed by a local healthcare system.

I'm very fortunate to have Kim as my therapist. I actually look forward to my next appointment, and even at the risk of being scolded for not doing an exercise correctly :-) I soon discovered that Kim pays very close attention to her patients & knows us well. There are numerous occasions where her words will pop into my head as I catch myself doing something incorrectly with my left arm. Her ability to have such professional excellence, & inspire confidence & cooperation in her patients, is refreshing to see in a healthcare system.

This isn't my first rodeo to physical therapy over the years. Never have I worked with a more pleasant & professional team of therapist and administrative staff. They are all to be commended for doing such wonderful work. Please extend my warmest appreciation!

Kindly,
Leisa R.



The clinic provides excellent physical therapy for quick postoperative healing from surgery. They started my therapy less than 2 weeks after major shoulder surgery, and the healing was phenomenally quick. The technicians and therapists all know their stuff and do great work.

Andrew S.



A great team! Meghan is brilliant with therapy for wrist surgery recovery. She has a cheerful and enthusiastic personality, which is helpful while you are getting your arm twisted around in different directions

Chris S.



My name is Matthew S.; I am a junior in high school and hope to play baseball in college. During my sophomore season I tore my UCL and had to get Tommy John surgery which is one a baseball player never wants to get. As a pitcher I wanted to make sure I made the quickest and most full recovery so when I was recommended by a fellow teammate who also had the same surgery to work my rehab at Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute I decided that was best. Based off the success my teammate had working with Sharon and the entire staff I was eager to begin my rehab. Now about 7 months after my surgery, due to the great staff and their dedication on a personal level to healing my arm I am right on schedule to be pitching this upcoming summer.

Matt S.
Burke VA








I never knew or appreciated the value of physical therapy until I experienced it firsthand. Like many Arlington residents, I became an orthopedic patient after the sudden ice storm. Luckily, my trip to the emergency room put me into the hands of Nirschl Orthopaedic Center surgeons and Virginia Sportsmedicine physical therapists. My arm sustained massive damage from three fractures, and having no doubt the seriousness of the injury, I was very concerned that I would have to live with a deformed arm. Because NOC's surgeon used the latest advances in orthopedic reconstruction and followed the surgery with aggressive physical therapy by their outstanding team of therapists. I have regained the use and flexibility of my arm once again. I consider myself very blessed that their surgeon was on call.

Sr. Regina



After suffering an injury through soccer and dealing with pain for over a year, it was finally determined I had a labral tear and impingement in my right hip. As a trainer and performance coach to athletes, I was no longer able to effectively do my job anymore or live my highly active lifestyle. I had surgery and was beginning physical therapy at Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute three days later.

I immediately began working with Kim and right away she calmed my nerves about beginning therapy so soon after major surgery. She was extremely professional at our first meeting but knew how to make you feel like a friend and not just other patient.

I worked with Kim two to three times per week and every day she would ask how I was feeling and how I had been doing and would alter my therapy that day if needed based off of what was best for me and my recovery. As an elite athlete and trainer, it was important to me that I work with a therapist who respected me as a professional strength coach and pushed me as an athlete and Kim was my perfect match. Without her I wouldn't have returned to training as soon as I did. I am fully returned to running and lifting and am preparing to return back to soccer in a few months. Her knowledge, her manner, and her outpouring friendliness made my experience at Virginia Sportmedicine Institute so much greater than I was ever expecting.

Meghan Pray
NSPA CCS, FMS
Explosive Performance
Lead Performance Coach



Last October, I was referred to Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute by Dr. Guidi to seek therapy for a sore shoulder. When I was not able to achieve positive results, he sent me in for an MRI which showed multiple SLAP tears, a rotator cuff needing to be cleaned out, and the need to relocate the bicep tendon attachment. Post-surgery I returned to the capable hands of Kim Herbert to begin my physical therapy. Kim was super throughout my treatment, understanding the injury, the surgery, and the pains that I was experiencing. She understood when I needed to be pushed and when to let up a bit. My original prescription was for four months of PT, I am proud to say that we were able to do this in three months. I am sure in no small part to the skilled sessions with Kim and the rest of the great team at VSI. With only a month between my completion of work on my right shoulder and the same surgery being performed on my left shoulder, I find myself once again visiting Kim, Erin, and Rachel twice a week for PT sessions. I am hoping for the same quick results on the left shoulder, but even if it takes longer I know that this team will get me back to 100%.

Julie-Anne R.



I was a patient at VSI from October 2012 to April 2013. I underwent left shoulder surgery to include repairing three torn tendons and rotator cuff. I saw both Maureen and Kim at VSI depending on the time of day I scheduled my appointments. Approximately one month into rehab, I suffered from a great deal of pain and thanks to the expertise and precision to detail of both Kim and Maureen I went back to my surgeon who ordered an MRI. The MRI results showed pinched nerves and problems with three vertebras in my lower neck area. This exacerbated the pain from my neck all the way down to my elbow and forearm. The changes in diagnosis from rehabbing my shoulder to adding in these new problems were no issue for Kim or Maureen. I felt confident in the treatment and the time that they spent with me. I am very grateful how well Kim and Maureen communicated with each other on my progress and any new or recurring pain I faced with each session.

As time wore on, I started to schedule my appointments in the evening due to work conflicts and only worked with Kim. Kim offered excellent professional insight into my pain and used new techniques to assist me with the pain, which included taping my shoulder and back. It has been over six months since my surgery and I am feeling better and better each day. The expertise of Kim and Maureen have made it possible for me to continue my stretches and exercises on my own. I am confident that I will continue to gain strength, range of motion and reduce my pain. They both practiced a great deal of concern and patience, acknowledging my pain while pushing me past my comfort level in order for me to heal properly.

I highly recommend VSI and definitely Kim and Maureen for anyone in need of physical therapy.

Debra N.



During the past three months I have been fortunate to have had Dianne Robbins as a physical therapist for my broken wrist. As an experienced professional Ms. Robbins has demonstrated a balanced approach working with me and with my injury. She has balanced professional treatment with genuine interest in and concern for my rehabilitation; has combined sympathy with matter-of-factness about the necessary pain of manipulation and stretching; and has encouraged me to work on my goals without promising unrealistic outcomes. She correctly assessed my anxiety about anticipating pain and "chatted me up" to reduce my stress by focusing my attention elsewhere. Because of my confidence in her, I have felt comfortable asking Ms. Robbins questions and soliciting her advice. By following her suggestions and instructions, my progress has been steady and successful. She is in every sense responsible for my continuing recover. I am sincerely grateful to her, and I wish to commend her to you.

Patricia T.



If you have any shoulder joint problems or issues then Nirschl Orthopedic Center and Virginia Sports Medicine is where you should go. Following my SLAP repair and biceps tenodesis, the physical therapists and staff at Virginia Sports Medicine continued the excellent care. They were very professional and knew exactly the type of PT I needed to get back to 100% use of my shoulders. Because if them I'm able to still SCUBA dive, kayak, and work out.

Ken M.











I am writing in regards to the excellent level of care that I received while a patient at Virginia Sports Medicine Institute (VSI), from July 2012 to January 2013. I am a 33 year old Firefighter and Paramedic with the Arlington County Fire Department, I suffered a torn ACL in my right knee while at work and to make my recovery more interesting I tore the Patella Tendon in my left knee immediately following ACL revision. This proved to be a long and difficult recovery.

A week after my ACL revision I hobbled into VSI with a cast on my left leg and my right in an immobilizer and was introduced to Kim and the rest of the staff. After telling my story of how I sustained both injuries we got to work evaluating my knee and my goals for rehab. I attended physical therapy twice a week for approximately 6 months and worked with Kim just about every time. She worked extremely hard to keep me focused on my goals (retuning to work), and interested in therapy at all times. Kim was innovative, especially in the early going to adapt exercises that I could not do because of the injury to my left leg. Kim always answered concerns and questions that I had about certain exercises, things I could or couldn't do, and what I could expect going forward. Kim alleviated concerns I had about my second surgery (to fix the ruptured Patella tendon), and would routinely update my Orthopedist as to my progress and any concerns that I had. Kim ensured that I could get around, teaching me the correct way to walk on crutches with two injured legs and how to traverse stairs (even giving me a handy note to remember on my cast!). After my second surgery Kim started my treatment back at square one for my left leg and continued to push my right leg. I looked forward to therapy and Kim's cheery attitude that always put me into a good mood, no matter how down or frustrated I got. Slowly, I could feel both of my legs getting stronger and I went from being barely able to lift my leg off the table to jumping down the hall. I was discharged from therapy with confidence in both of my legs as well as full function.

I am eternally grateful to VSI and especially Kim for the dedication and commitment that they showed in their work. I am happy to say that I am back to full duty riding fire trucks and ambulances today; I know that wouldn't have been possible without all of their help. I hope to never be a patient again, but if I am, I will definitely go back to VSI and ask for Kim.

Kevin T.



You guys are the best- Thanks for getting my rehab off "on the right foot"! I'm getting The Healing Feeling!

Clayton R.



I became a patient of Dr. Clay Wellborn and physical Maureen, who has worked closely with me as my Physical Therapist as I dealt with two deteriorating hip joints. To be honest, I feared surgery. I mean I was committed to rehabilitating my hips, but not surgically repairing them. At the same time my father became ill and passed away and Dr. Wellborn help me get through this trying family time with therapy and medications.

When I finally decided on surgery my discomfort level was through the roof and my CAT Scans and X-rays showed that both joints had deteriorated. After my husband and I meet with Dr. Wellborn we all agreed that hip replacement was the only course of action left for me. Surgery was scheduled and I worked with my employer to schedule the need medical leave for my recovery and rehab sessions. Dr. Wellborn had described the likely change, but before surgery I was a skeptic. My surgery was successful. He found that my upper leg bone has broken through the now jelly like joint by more than an inch. He took that into account when he implanted the artificial hip joint so both legs would be the same length. His pre-surgery protocol was such that I experienced no after effects from the anesthesia. The day after surgery I was pain free for the first time in several years and in my case no pain killer drugs were necessary. The next day they had me walking the floor with a walker and before I left the hospital I was able to walk up and down a few stairs.

My health insurance provided for several weeks of home therapy followed by twice a week physical therapy at the Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute physical therapy center in Arlington next to the Virginia Hospital Center.

Because I had worked with my physical therapist Maureen before surgery, I was physically prepared for a speedier recovery. After a couple of weeks of home therapy I returned to the therapy Center and began strengthening and flexibility therapy. I was back at work in only 5 weeks.

Six weeks later Dr. Wellborn replaced my other hip and I experienced again an even speedier and pain free recovery. If not for Dr. Clay Wellborn and Maureen, I would not be pain free today and more importantly walking normally.

My story does not end there.

In July of 2012, I found out I had breast cancer, I stopped by Dr. Wellborn's office immediately after learning I had cancer and we spoke about my diagnosis and began planning my physical therapy following surgery. I find him so compassionate and understanding. The day of my surgery, he stopped twice to visit with my husband and to check on my status. After my surgery they executed the physical therapy plan that he and Maureen had laid out so scar tissue would not prevent my arm and shoulder from functioning normally. I elected to have breast reconstruction surgery and again Dr. Wellborn and Maureen have helped my physical and emotional recovery after each of these additional surgeries. I found Maureen, and the other therapists, are very good listeners, and their therapy regiment has resulted in my regaining full motion in my arm and shoulder.

Well that is our story . . . I hope you find yourselves in as excellent and supportive care as our family has experienced.

Patricia Betts, Springfield, VA



First, I would like to thank the entire staff at both Nirschl Orthopaedic Center and the Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute. They responded quickly and promptly to my request for a medical consult that was strictly related to the health of my knees. Dr. Nirschl is about as good as it gets. He was easy to talk with and straight-forward in his medical evaluation. He took the time to explain how I should focus as much as possible on preventative maintenance in order to prepare for what I was about to do.

Here's some background information:
Born and raised in Alexandria, VA. I attended T.C. Williams High School (Class of '07), then enlisted in the United States Marine Corps from 2008-2012. After leaving the Marines, I, along with 5 other patriotic Americans, founded the organization "The Run for Veterans". This Veteran's Day (November 11, 2012), our team will embark in a once-in-a-lifetime, 3600 mile run that will take us through 21 states and, literally, from sea to shining sea. During this endeavor, the goal of The Run for Veterans is to raise 2 million dollars and raise awareness through schools, communities, and VFW halls in every town we pass throughout our journey.

As everybody knows, any 8 month, 3600 mile, 21 state run cannot take place without some planning. The first thing I had to do is make sure that I was physically prepared for the rigors of such a trip. For me, this began with my physical training at Virginia Sportsmedicine. On the very first day I visited Virginia Sportsmedicine, not only did I receive the knowledge, support, and medical verification on specific pain levels and locations, but I formed a quick and easy bond with all of the staff members. Not only did Mike Hmara increase my ability to run faster, but more importantly, he was dedicated to the educational aspect I never would have thought of without our discussions. Along with the help of Dr. Nirschl's original examination and the physical strategic game plan he developed, I slowly mastered the strength, gait/stance/running and stretching techniques that directly fueled the confidence, ability, and knowledge I will need to safely and effectively navigate through my journey.

I've waited three and half years for this and now there's not anything to stop me from achieving my goal.

As a man who served four years in the United States Marine Corps, climbed more mountains than I care to think about, and now currently train to prepare for a 3,600 mile run across America...I have no problem saying with honor, courage, and commitment that Nirschl Orthopaedic Center and Virginia Sportsmedicine are by far the most well rounded physician office and physical therapy and technique training facility I've ever received experienced.

All the Best,
J. Brendan O'Toole (U.S.M.C Veteran 2012 SGT)
Brendan@TheRunforVeterans.org





"I have been going to VSI since I was in little league and I still choose VSI as a professional baseball player. When I had my labrum surgery I knew that the staff at VSI would get me back on the field in no time. They are always professional and also the leader in innovative treatments. One of the most game-changing of them all is the dry needling. Nothing has made such a direct impact on my recover and I truly believe it got rid of my plantar fasciitis after battling with it for almost 9 months. My brothers Matt Snyder (NY Yankees Organization) and Mike Snyder (Los Angles Angels Organization) have also been going to VSI since we could pick up a baseball. I would recommend VSI to anyone looking for a first class place with a first class staff to help get you back out there."

Brandon Snyder
Boston Red Sox








"In a sport where the smallest injury can mean the difference between winning and losing, the doctors at Nirschl Orthopaedic Center have been a major factor in keeping me health in my march toward a world title. No shortcuts are taken to be the best in their field. Working with the doctors and the great staff, I have been treated top notch and enjoy the pleasant, professional atmosphere. Every bump and bruise has been eradicated by their knowledge, work ethic, and attention to detail."

Jimmy Lange
Processional boxer, starred in The Contender
World Boxing Union (WBU) Champion, Jr. Middle Weight
NABF Champion, Ranked 15 in the world
WBA professional record 37-4-2, 25 wins by knock out





"I had my rotator cuff and labrum repaired in my second season of professional baseball. Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute was the major reason for my recovery and return to the professional ranks that following season. They have a great passion for working with athletes and take pride in their ability to return them to a competitive level in their sport."

Derrick Ellison
Professional Baseball Player 2001-2010










"First off, I would like to thank you and all of the staff of the Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute. You guys made it fun to go to physical therapy. I have heard war-stories about people going to physical therapy where they were just tossed into groups and told to do exercises there was no personal attention or anything.

I always felt welcome and very well attended to. I remember when I first came in after my surgery, I could barely move my arm at all. It was a good day if I could lift my arm more than 6 inches. My goal was to just be able to move it again. As I progressed in the physical therapy, my goals became more and more difficult. When I came in with a new goal, you guys made it happen. I went from barely being able to move my arm, to getting ready to begin training for triathlons. Thank you very much for everything you guys have done. I will recommend you to anyone in need of physical therapy."

Robert B.



"I came to Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute with an L5 stress fracture in my lower back during the spring of my senior season of high school baseball. Through physical therapy I am now 100% healthy and looking forward to playing Division 1 college baseball. Their facilities and knowledge of the human body and how to nurse it helped me regain the strength I had lost during the injury and then some."

Sincerely,
Foster D.
4 year starting varsity shortstop at Langley High School

 

 

 



"Thank you to all the staff at the Virginia Sports Institute of Physical Therapy. Everyone had such a positive attitude every time I walked in for my appointment. I had been playing tennis for years; my shoulder injury is one of the biggest challenges that I have had to face. They got me back on the court and started me on a program to keep my shoulder strong."

Carmen P.
National junior tennis player










"After having two total knee replacements a few months apart I went to Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute for physical therapy. In 6 weeks I returned back to work on full duty status as a letter-carrier. Their well trained staff got my muscles back just as they once were. I couldn't recommend a better physical therapy group. Their exceptional staff from the receptionists to the therapists is the very finest. If you are looking for the best, VSI is there for you. Thank you for everything you did for me."



Debbie C.







"I went to doctor Nirschl for knee pain and had arthroscopic surgery to repair a torn meniscus. Overall, the whole experience was positive. Dr. Nirschl is professional, honest and proficient. The therapists at Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute are equally capable and made the rehabilitation process not only effective, but enjoyable. I am now well on my way to recovery and beginning to enjoy the many outdoor activities I love. Thank you to Dr. Nirschl and Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute!"

Nick W.









"I utilized physical therapy at Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute for long term recover from the dislocation of my left knee cap and subsequent removal of a large foreign body (piece of my patella). The attention to my needs from every therapist was exceptional. A good plan was determined early and once followed led to the healing and strengthening of the knee. I am able comfortably exercise and play sports at the level I am used to - I am 48 years old and consider myself quite active; running regularly and playing soccer.

I have recently had shoulder surgery (rotator cuff) and look forward to utilizing the expertise and facilities of Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute again. I expect similarly excellent results!"

Matt M.
Professional Regional Soccer Scout
Sporting Kansas City



"VSI is a very professional physical therapy center with an incredibly welcoming atmosphere. The staff is very knowledgeable, patient, encouraging, and friendly. They support each patient every step of the way with positive reinforcement to help them achieve their goals. The physical therapists are very approachable and honest when answering any questions about strength improvements and progress. I love going to VSI for my physical therapy and fitness workouts."

Breanne H.










"I have previously been treated by two other physical therapy clinics (military and civilian/commercial) before being treated by Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute (VSI). VSI has been more instrumental to my recovery and improved mobility than the other physical therapy clinics. The Physical Therapists and staff at VSI are extremely professional and have taken the extra effort to meet my specific requirements. I could not have asked for better treatment."

Phillip P.










I am an attorney from Fairfax, Virginia, and I have been a patient of Dr. Robert P. Nirschl, since January 2004. My first visit to Nirschl Orthopaedic Center occurred after I experienced severe pain in my left shoulder and in some fingers on my left hand. As part of my treatment, Dr. Nirschl sent me to his Virginia Sportsmedicine Clinic in Arlington, Virginia. As an avid golfer, I was very concerned that I could no longer compete in golf championships due to my very painful shoulder and fingers. Excellent physical therapy allowed me to recover and compete within a couple of months. The Sportmedicine Clinic has the very best physical therapists and techs I have ever encountered, and the clinic is well known throughout this region and East Coast as truly exceptional. The staff at the clinic is outstanding in every way and completely focused on returning patients back to their desired activities in superior condition. They are especially attuned to treating athletes and returning them to competition in better condition. The exercises they trained me to do enhanced my physical condition and resulted in further improvement into the future. Over the years, I have sought treatment from Dr. Nirschl and his staff for a number of physical problems including a left knee operation, left and right shoulder therapy, elbow therapy, hand and wrist therapy, and back therapy involving acute lumbar pain and sciatica. Throughout all of my physical ailments and challenges, Dr. Nirschl and his outstanding staff have always been there to return me to health. While a patient of Dr. Nirschl, I have been able to continue competing in golf championships at a high level. I have won 5 Pro-Am Championship events on the PGA Champions Tour and two Senior President's Cup Championships at Kinloch Golf Club near Richmond, Virginia. The truly exceptional medical care that I have consistently received from Dr. Nirschl and his staff is the main ingredient in the success I have had in my golfing career.

Walton M. Jeffress, Jr, Esq



"The most important thing to any athlete is on field performance, but as we all know one cannot perform at peak levels if experiencing chronic pain or nagging injuries. Unfortunately I understand this better than most, having broken countless bones and undergoing two surgeries, I currently hold the thickest folder at my hospital. Because of these setbacks I should probably be finished with my athletic career, but lucky for me I have known and worked with Nirschl Orthopedics and Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute for many years now. Whether a simple sprained ankle or a surgically repaired ligament, they have always gotten me back on the field healthier and stronger than ever before in the shortest amount of time possible. In a place where no athlete wishes to be, they make rehabilitation a joy, something for an injured athlete to look forward to day in and day out. Without them I would not be looking forward to a collegiate career next year at George Washington University."

-Colin M.
Bishop O'Connell '09
IMG Academy '10
George Washington University '14



"I have been a patient at Virginia Sportsmedicine Institute periodically for the past 25 years thanks to elbow, rotator cuff and menisci operations as well other sports related injuries. I have always found the many different therapists who treated me to be consistently knowledgeable, resourceful, conscientious and, most importantly, highly effective. The certified and in-training therapists work together professionally and efficiently. That, coupled with the courteous administrative staff, creates a very friendly atmosphere. This explains why Virginia Sportsmedicine is recognized as a premier physical therapy clinic in the Washington metropolitan area."

Sam U.



"At age seven, as the result of a train accident, I lost my right arm above the elbow and my right leg below the knee. I subsequently competed in most sports and played trumpet. After college, I competed in golf, especially in amputee tournaments. In the 1980's, I was a member of the Washington Redskins Marching Band for six years. However, from the late 80's until now I have depended to a large extent on Dr. Nirschl and Virginia Sports Medicine to maintain a healthful level of physical activity. First, I developed tennis elbow and was being seen at Georgetown Hospital, where I frequently heard therapists mention the name "Nirschl", seemingly as a standard treatment method. Then one day the orthopedist told me he thought I should see Dr. Nirschl. Until then, I thought they were talking about a textbook. So, since then, I have been treated successfully not only for the elbow, but for various knee and shoulder problems, especially a severe rotator cuff tear following a 2007 fall onto an icy road surface. More recently, in August 2011, I was on vacation and feeling in great shape when I was rear-ended by a truck, and again I am under treatment but seem to be responding well, as usual.

After these years of outstanding, successful treatment by Dr. Nirschl and Virginia Sports Medicine, I am well aware of the professionalism and the great personal understanding and support of everyone there, many of whom I have known and greatly appreciated for decades."

Edward M.

Contact Us - 703-525-5542

Where Does It Hurt?

Arlington Office

1715 North George Mason Dr., Medical Offices C, Suite 503, Arlington Virginia 22205


McLean Office

1499 Chain Bridge Road Suite 101, McLean Professional Park, McLean, Virginia 22101


Monday-Friday / 6:30 am - 7 pm

Phone: 703-525-5542 ext. 200 / Fax: 703-525-2739